Who Owns OpenRouter?
Updated onUse this page to find the OpenRouter owner and explore the full ownership hierarchy. See the owner of OpenRouter, the parent company, holding structures, and ultimate controllers.
OpenRouter
Unified API gateway that gives developers access to hundreds of LLMs with smart routing, unified billing, and pay-as-you-go model selection.
Starts at $0
Has a free trial
Stripe
Payment processing platform that helps businesses accept online payments and handle compliance and KYC through integrations.
OpenRouter
Unified API gateway that gives developers access to hundreds of LLMs with smart routing, unified billing, and pay-as-you-go model selection.
Starts at $0
Has a free trial
Stripe
Payment processing platform that helps businesses accept online payments and handle compliance and KYC through integrations.
Major Shareholders
OpenRouter
Major Shareholders
| Name | Type | Ownership | As of |
|---|---|---|---|
Alex Atallah Co-founder and CEO of OpenRouter; one of the principal founders reported in company materials and investor posts. ([alexatallah.com](https://alexatallah.com/?utm_source=openai)) | Founder | - | Aug 2026 |
Chris Clark Co-founder / COO listed in company documents and academic / team materials. ([openrouter.ai](https://openrouter.ai/assets/State-of-AI.pdf?utm_source=openai)) | Founder | - | Aug 2026 |
Louis Vichy Named as a co‑founder in multiple company profiles. ([crunchbase.com](https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/openrouter?utm_source=openai)) | Founder | - | Aug 2026 |
Andreessen Horowitz (a16z) Lead participant in early institutional rounds (Seed / Series A) per press coverage. Exact stake not publicly disclosed. ([natlawreview.com](https://natlawreview.com/press-releases/openrouter-raises-40-million-scale-multi-model-inference-enterprise?utm_source=openai)) | Institutional | - | Jun 2025 |
Menlo Ventures Led / co-led Series A participation alongside a16z per Menlo's announcement and company press. Exact stake not publicly disclosed. ([menlovc.com](https://menlovc.com/perspective/investing-in-openrouter-the-one-api-for-all-ai/?utm_source=openai)) | Institutional | - | Jun 2025 |
Sequoia Capital Named as a participant in the Seed / Series A financing in company press releases; stake size not disclosed. ([natlawreview.com](https://natlawreview.com/press-releases/openrouter-raises-40-million-scale-multi-model-inference-enterprise?utm_source=openai)) | Institutional | - | Jun 2025 |
CapitalG (Alphabet Growth Fund) Reported lead or participant in later-stage (Series B) financing as reported in Business Wire / press materials. Exact stake not disclosed. ([via.tt.se](https://via.tt.se/pressmeddelande/4402616/openrouter-raises-dollar113-million-capitalg-led-series-b-as-weekly-volume-explodes-to-25t-tokens?lang=en&utm_source=openai)) | Institutional | - | May 2026 |
Stripe, Inc. Press distribution on Aug 19, 2026 states Stripe agreed to acquire OpenRouter; if the acquisition closed, Stripe would be the majority/sole owner — transaction status and post-close ownership percentages should be confirmed from an official Stripe or OpenRouter announcement or regulator filings. ([publicnow.com](https://www.publicnow.com/view/4A7ED3D603CD6691AB4CEB4ECD4264347A4CE6F4?utm_source=openai)) | Corporate | - | Aug 2026 |
Stripe
Major Shareholders
| Name | Type | Ownership | As of |
|---|---|---|---|
Patrick Collison Co‑founder and CEO of Stripe, Inc. Public reporting and investor analyses consistently describe Patrick (with his brother John) as one of Stripe’s largest individual shareholders; media estimates based on their net worth and company valuations suggest each brother owns on the order of 10% of Stripe, though exact current percentages are not officially disclosed and have been diluted over successive funding and liquidity rounds. | Founder | - | Feb 2025 |
John Collison Co‑founder and president of Stripe. Alongside Patrick, John is repeatedly identified as one of Stripe’s largest individual shareholders; press coverage of their net worth and Stripe’s private valuations indicates each brother holds roughly a 10% stake, but the company has never published precise ownership figures. | Founder | - | Feb 2025 |
Sequoia Capital Long‑time Silicon Valley venture investor in Stripe, first backing the company in its 2010–2011 seed and leading the Series A; described in multiple sources as one of Stripe’s largest outside shareholders. Sequoia has invested more than $500m in Stripe over many rounds and in 2024 completed an $861m secondary purchase of Stripe shares from its own limited partners at an implied ~$70bn valuation, further increasing its stake. | Institutional | - | Sep 2024 |
Andreessen Horowitz (a16z) Major venture firm that invested in Stripe’s 2011 seed round and returned in later financings including the 2020 Series G and the 2023 $6.5bn Series I round; Stripe’s own Series I press release lists Andreessen Horowitz as an existing primary shareholder participating in that financing, implying a substantial continuing equity position. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
Thrive Capital New York–based growth‑stage VC firm and one of Stripe’s largest late‑stage backers. Thrive first invested in Stripe’s 2014 Series C and later led the $6.5bn Series I round in March 2023 at a $50bn valuation, and Stripe and third‑party databases continue to cite it as a key institutional shareholder. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
General Catalyst Early and repeat investor in Stripe; led the Series B in 2012 and appears in numerous subsequent rounds (multiple Series C tranches, Series G and Series I). This long history across stages makes General Catalyst one of Stripe’s most established institutional shareholders. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
Founders Fund Venture firm founded by Peter Thiel that led one of Stripe’s early Series C financings and is listed by Stripe as an existing primary shareholder in the $6.5bn Series I round, indicating a meaningful long‑term stake. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
Baillie Gifford Edinburgh‑based asset manager whose trusts (such as Scottish Mortgage and Baillie Gifford US Growth) hold private Stripe shares; disclosures showed Stripe as a significant position (about 0.8% of Scottish Mortgage’s NAV in 2021). Stripe’s 2021 Series H and 2023 Series I press releases both list Baillie Gifford as a primary investor, supporting its status as a major institutional shareholder. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
MSD Partners / BDT & MSD Partners Investment firm associated with Michael Dell’s family office; cited by Stripe as an existing shareholder and primary investor in the 2023 $6.5bn Series I round. BDT & MSD Partners’ leadership publicly commented on Stripe as a long‑term portfolio company, indicating a sizeable equity position. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
Fidelity Management & Research (Fidelity Investments) Large U.S. asset manager that took part in Stripe’s $600m Series H round in 2021 and holds Stripe shares across several mutual funds. Subsequent reporting on mutual‑fund markdowns and later valuation increases repeatedly references Fidelity’s private Stripe stake, confirming it as a notable institutional shareholder. | Institutional | - | Aug 2022 |
GIC (Government of Singapore Investment Corporation) Singapore’s sovereign wealth fund; Stripe’s March 2023 Series I announcement names GIC as a new primary investor in the $6.5bn round, implying a large direct equity position established at a $50bn valuation. | Government | - | Mar 2023 |
Temasek Holdings State‑owned investment company of Singapore that also joined Stripe’s cap table as a new primary investor in the 2023 Series I round; Stripe and independent coverage list Temasek among the main participants, indicating a meaningful minority stake. | Government | - | Mar 2023 |
Goldman Sachs Asset and Wealth Management Goldman Sachs’s asset‑management arm is named by Stripe as a new primary investor in the 2023 $6.5bn Series I funding and has also been involved in later employee‑liquidity transactions, making it one of Stripe’s larger institutional shareholders. | Institutional | - | Mar 2023 |
National Treasury Management Agency / Ireland Strategic Investment Fund Ireland’s sovereign investment body, via the NTMA and the Ireland Strategic Investment Fund, invested in Stripe’s $600m Series H round in 2021 at a $95bn valuation. The Irish state entity is repeatedly listed among Stripe’s principal institutional investors, giving it a notable minority shareholding. | Government | - | Mar 2021 |
Current and former Stripe employees and advisors (excluding founders) In addition to founders and institutional investors, Stripe’s equity is widely held by employees and advisors through stock options and RSUs. Stripe’s 2023 Series I transaction and subsequent tender offers were structured primarily to provide liquidity and deal with tax obligations for current and former employees, underscoring that this group collectively owns a significant, though undisclosed, portion of the company. | Other | - | Mar 2023 |
For Founders
Need this depth of research for your own market?
Get a full competitive intelligence report for your business. See your competitors, how they position, and where the gaps are.
Competitive Intelligence Report
22 pages of competitive intelligence. Built for founders who need sharp market context without hiring an analyst.
$129
Everything you get in your report:
Pricing Fully Exposed
See exactly what competitors charge, their tiers, trials, and guarantees.
Feature Matrix: Build vs Skip
Table stakes every competitor has. Differentiators only 1-2 have.
Reviews You Can Use
Real quotes from G2, Capterra, Trustpilot, and TrustRadius. Ready for your site, demos, and positioning.
10 Competitors Mapped
Direct, indirect, and alternatives. Positioning, ICP, and differentiators.
SEO Gaps Worth Targeting
Keywords they rank for, you don't. With "Quick Win" tags.
Their Best-Performing Ads
Top-performing Google & Meta ads. Landing page screenshots with CTAs.
15+ Data Sources
APIs, LLMs, scrapers. Data ChatGPT can't access.
